Our Consortium

NFDI4Chem started as a grassroots initiative in April 2018, driven by experts in the field after the first position paper by the German Council for Scientific Information Infrastructures (RfII) to establish a national research data infrastructure (Nationale ForschungsDatenInfrastruktur) for Germany. It has therefore already been maximally inclusive and consulted a wide range of user communities in chemistry in Germany. Numerous representatives of research institutions, infrastructure facilities, computer centres, professional societies and other stakeholders have made important contributions to the development of NFDI4Chem.

In autumn 2019, the following consortium with its spokespersons, co-spokespersons and participants was formally formed. NFDI4Chem is supported by the German Chemical Society (GDCh), German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry (DBG) and German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG) – representing approximately 40,000 members – to reach out to the chemistry community as a whole. The NFDI4Chem Community additionally involves many, many active partners not listed here. NFDIChem is lead by the Applicant Institution Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena.



Prof. Dr. Christoph Steinbeck
Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena

Dr. Oliver Koepler
TIB – Leibniz-Information Centre for Science and Technology


Dr. Felix Bach
Leibniz-Institute for Information Infrastructure (FIZ Karlsruhe)

Prof. Dr. Sonja Herres-Pawlis
RWTH Aachen University

Dr. Nicole Jung
Karlsruhe Institute for Technology

Dr. Johannes Liermann
Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz

Dr. Steffen Neumann
Leibniz-Institute for Plant Biochemistry (IPB)

Matthias Razum
Leibniz-Institute for Information Infrastructure (FIZ Karlsruhe)


Dr. Carsten Kettner, Dr. Wendy Patterson

Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung
Dr. Jens Riedel, Rukeia El-Athman

Center for Information Services and High Performance Computing (ZIH), TU Dresden,
Dr. Ralph Müller-Pfefferkorn, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang E. Nagel

Fritz-Haber-Institute Max-Planck-Society,
PD Dr. Carsten Baldauf

Georg-August-University Göttingen,
Prof. Dr. Ricardo Mata

German Chemical Society (GDCh),
Prof. Wolfram Koch, Dr. Hans-Georg Weinig

German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG),
Prof. Dr. Stefan Laufer, Prof. Dr. Andreas Link

Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research UFZ,
Dr. Tobias Schulze, PD Dr. Werner Brack,   

IT Center – RWTH Aachen University,
Prof. Dr. Matthias Müller

Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz,
Prof. Dr. Paul Czodrowski

Julius-Maximilians-University Würzburg,
Prof. Dr. Alfred Forchel, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schatzschneider

Karlsruhe Institute for Technology,
Dr. Frank Biedermann, Prof. Dr. Patrick Théato, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wenzel

Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology (IPHT),
PD Dr. Thomas Bocklitz

Leibniz Institute of Plant Biochemistry (IPB) 
Dr. Frank Broda, Prof. Ludger Wessjohann,  

Leibniz Institute for Information Infrastructure (FIZ Karlsruhe),
Prof. Dr. Franziska Boehm

Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich,
Dr. Thomas Engel,

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB),
Dr. Giacomo Lanza

RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau,
Prof. Dr. Georg Manolikakes,  Jun.-Prof. Dr. Johann-N. Seibert, Prof. Dr. Maria Wächtler

Technical University Dortmund,
Prof. Dr. Stefan M. Kast

University of Stuttgart,
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Pleiss,

University Library Braunschweig,
Robert Strötgen Dipl. Inf.-wiss.

University Library Braunschweig – Fachinformationsdienst Pharmazie,
Apotheker Stefan Wulle


Dr. Elisabeth Kapatsina, Deutsche Bunsen-Gesellschaft für physikalische Chemie e.V.

Dr. Torsten Winkler, Otto Diels Institute of Organic Chemistry, Kiel University